Posted by: matheuscmss | April 4, 2012

Slides for my talks at UNC, Maryland and Penn State

Since March 22 (and until April 6), I’m visiting the US (for my second time) to attend some conferences and give some talks at Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (from March 22 to March 24), University of Maryland (from March 25 to April 2), and Penn State University (from April 3 to April 6).

So far, I met new people that I only knew by name (such as Miguel Walsh and Tim Austin), listened to very interesting talks, and I gave five talks:

  • one on March 23 at Chapel Hill (around a joint work with J. Palis and J.-C. Yoccoz) on the fractal geometry of non-uniformly hyperbolic horseshoes,
  •  two others at Maryland on March 29 on the simplicity of Lyapunov spectrum of Kontsevich-Zorich cycle for square-tiled surfaces (around a joint work of M. Moeller and J.-C. Yoccoz), and April 1 on the central Oseledets bundle of the Kontsevich-Zorich cocycle (around joint works with G. Forni and A. Zorich, and a work in progress with A. Avila and J.-C. Yoccoz),
  • two others at Penn State also on the central Oseledets bundle of the Kontsevich-Zorich cocycle on April 3, and on the simplicity of Lyapunov spectrum of Kontsevich-Zorich cycle for square-tiled surfaces on April 4.

In fact,

  • for the first (45 min.) talk at Chapel Hill I’ve slightly updated (see here) some slides in this previous post here (used in a conference at Marseille about 9 months ago),
  • for the second (2 hours) talk I prepared some slides (here) based on the posts SPCS 6, 7, 8, 9 , 10,
  • for the third (55 min.) talk I prepared some slides (here) based on these posts here,
  • and for the fourth (2  hours) talk I’ve expanded (see here) the set of slides of the third talk above: indeed, for my fourth talk I took advantage of the fact that G. Forni made an introduction to Teichmuller dynamics minicourse at Penn State two weeks ago (and hence the audience was already familiar with the basics).
  • finally, for the fifth talk (1 hour) I decided to use the same slides (here) as for my (second) talk in Maryland.

Now, the current plan is the following. After a kind invitation of Idris Assani (who organized the conference at Chapel Hill), I will try to write some expanded notes for the talk around the work with J. Palis and J.-C. Yoccoz, and, of course, I will eventually post them here when they are ready.  On the other hand, for the talks at Maryland and Penn State, since all slides are posted and the material covered by them was already discussed in this blog to a large extend (see SPCS 6, 7, 8, 9 , 10, and these posts here), I’m will make no further comments on them.

PS: As you can see here, I’ve just upload a post on Hakan Eliasson’s talk at Maryland on last March 30. Moreover, I’m planning to write one more post probably around some talk of the conference at UNC-Chapel Hill. But, I’m not sure I will be able to finish it soon, because next week there will be a very interesting meeting at Marseille with 4 minicourses by Alex Eskin, Erwan Lanneau, Jean-Francois Quint and Omri Sarig (and, of course, I plan to post something around this meeting as well 🙂 )


Leave a Reply

Categories

